This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Let's Talk About: Grain Free Flour

Whether you’re new to paleo or health food fluent, you’ve probably noticed that there are seemingly endless terms to understand. Labels like vegan, vegetarian, soy free, dairy free, gluten free can be overwhelming. Looking to decode label language? The first thing to remember is that none of these terms translate to good or bad. Instead, they provide information that can guide you to find the best foods that work for your body with minimal effort. 

If you’ve checked out our ingredient list, you’ve seen that our crackers are made with a grain and gluten free crust. We’re pretty proud of the recipe - not only is it delicious, but the ingredients take into consideration two different dietary restrictions. Let us explain. 

Gluten free versus grain free 

One label that’s received attention in recent years is gluten free. Gluten is a mixture of proteins that is found in grains, like wheat, and which creates a stretchy texture. You know how freshly baked bread pulls apart slowly? That’s because of the gluten. 

Another common label is grain free. Now, it’s important to note that gluten free and grain free don’t mean the same thing. Some grains do not include gluten, meaning that some foods labeled “gluten free” could still contain grains. The reverse is also true. Grain free foods may still contain hidden sources of gluten. 

Here’s a diagram that might help.

Why does it matter? 

Individuals with Celiac disease have an immune reaction to gluten and typically need to cut out gluten entirely. But gluten and grain free diets have also grown in favorability with the wider population, specifically those looking to balance gut health and decrease inflammation. Grains tend to raise blood sugar and can be difficult to digest. And since many grains contain gluten, eliminating grains kills two birds with one stone - all while easing digestion and inflammation.  

How does it relate to paleo? 

Since the paleo diet focuses on foods available to our ancestors, the paleo diet is grain free. And, remember how most gluten comes from grains? That means the paleo diet is usually gluten free as well. 

At Paleo & Co., we intentionally developed a crust that would tick both boxes, allowing anyone to indulge without worrying about digestive discomfort or bloating. Our delicious crust is made with coconut and arrowroot flowers, which help promote healthy digestion, stable blood sugar, and overall heart health. 

Click here to try it for yourself!


Photo by HowToGym on Unsplash